NFC vs AFC: Some of the NFL’s brightest stars will take to the field for the final time this season on Sunday, with the cream of the crop in the AFC and NFC colliding in the Pro Bowl 2020.

As has become almost tradition, the original 44-man rosters selected last month will look different on Sunday, with a host of players pulling out due to injuries. Additionally, neither the Kansas City Chiefs nor the San Francisco 49ers will have any representatives in Orlando, Florida, as they have wrapped up their players in cotton wool ahead of Super Bowl LIV next week.

While Patrick Mahomes, Travis Kelce, George Kittle and Roger Sherman won’t be on the field, there will be plenty of talent on display. The NFC is led by Seattle Seahawks’ Pete Carroll, who will find a familiar face at quarterback in the shape of Russell Wilson. Here’s all you need to know ahead of Sunday.

When and where is the game?
The 2020 Pro Bowl will be held at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida, on Sunday, January 26, with kick-off is scheduled for 3 p.m. ET.

This AFC Pro Bowl team will feature Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson, the expected league MVP, who threw a league-high 36 touchdown passes this season. Jackson also rushed for 1,207 yards, an NFL single-season record by a quarterback. Jackson will be flanked in the AFC backfield by running back Derrick Henry, who led the league with 1,540 rushing yards and 16 rushing touchdowns during the regular season. Henry is coming off a sensational playoff run that saw him run for 446 yards and two touchdowns while leading the Titans to the AFC Championship Game.

How to watch

Date: Sunday, Jan. 26 | Time: 3 p.m. ET
Location: Camping World Stadium (Orlando, Florida)
TV: ABC/ESPN/Disney XD | Stream: WatchESPN
Follow: CBS Sports App

Which players are taking part?
Both teams are made up of 44 players each, comprising 21 offensive and 18 defensive players and five specialists as voted by fans, players and coaches.

Of the players selected, the 10 who play for the San Francisco 49ers—Nick Bosa, George Kittle, Richard Sherman and Kyle Juszczyk—and the Kansas City Chiefs—Patrick Mahomes, Tyreek Hill, Travis Kelce, Mecole Hardman, Chris Jones and Frank Clark—won’t take part in the Pro Bowl due to their involvement in Super Bowl LIV next week.

Baltimore Ravens quarterback and runaway MVP favorite Lamar Jackson will be the starting signal-caller for the AFC, while his Seattle Seahawks counterpart Russell Wilson will fulfill the role for the NFC.

On the defensive side of the ball, Arizona Cardinals outside linebacker Chandler Jones is among the starters as are New Orleans Saints defensive end Cameron Jordan and cornerback Marshon Lattimore.

The AFC is coached by Ravens’ head coach John Harbaugh, while Seahawks head coach Pete Carroll is in charge of the NFC.

On defense, the NFC team will boast two Vikings at defensive end in Danielle Hunter and Everson Griffen. The NFC defense will also include linebackers Chandler Jones (19 sacks, eight forced fumbles this season) and Za’Darius Smith (15.5 sacks this season), Vikings safety Harrison Smith and Bears defensive backs Eddie Jackson and Kyle Fuller. The NFC team’s special teams unit includes Saints kicker Wil Lutz and Saints return specialist Deonte Harris, who led the league in punt returns (36) and return yardage (338) this season.

While the game has undergone several different formats, the Pro Bowl went back to its traditional AFC vs. NFC format in 2016. The AFC is currently riding a three-game winning streak while taking a 24-22 lead in the all-time series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *